Bachman-Turner Overdrive

Head On

Released: 1975

Head On is an album by Canadian rock band Bachman-Turner Overdrive, released in December, 1975 (see 1975 in music). It was Bachman-Turner Overdrive's fifth release. It is considered to be a turning point for the band, musically speaking, being that it was somewhat different musically than the previous albums. On the original vinyl release, it came with a 24 by 24 inch poster featuring all the members in the band at that time. It was rereleased in 2003 on Repertoire Records in conjunction with Mercury Records and it featured the bonus track "Down To The Line." "Down To The Line" was not originally released on the vinyl or the original Mercury CD release of "Head On," although it was released as a single in 1975. The single "Take It Like A Man" reached number 33 on the American charts and received significant airplay at that time. Famous pianist Little Richard plays backing piano in the song. Near the end of the song, C.F. Turner tells him to "Play it Richard", and he does, with heavy expression. Another single from this album, "Lookin' Out for #1," received heavy airplay upon its release on both conventional rock and soft rock FM stations.


1. Find Out About Love
2. It's Over
3. Average Man
4. Woncha Take Me For A While
5. Wild Spirit

6. Take It Like a Man
7. Lookin' Out For #1
8. Away From Home
9. Stay Alive
10. Down To the Line

Buy now

Head On