Randy Bachman


Released: 1996

Randy's 1996 solo album Merge is a testament to his ability to write and perform lasting hits. The centerpiece of the 12-track album is a song titled Made In Canada which was performed with the one and only Neil Young. This 10-minute song, captured in one take, was recorded at Young's sprawling ranch studio north of San Francisco. Of the track, Bachman enthuses... "The song was over at four minutes, but then Neil launched into this solo that's like Hendrix burning his guitar at Monterey." Merge, which features Bachman's son Tal playing drums, piano, guitar and accordion, literally merges his ongoing interests in numerous forms of rock music... Bachman comments: "Growing up in the prairie town of Winnipeg, Manitoba, I heard all kinds of great music late at night on my little rocket radio. Over the years I have had so many musical influences that they are impossible to name. These new songs I played in the styles of many of my heroes."


1. Born to Ride
2. There Ain't Nothin' Like It
3. Bad News Travels Fast
4. I Play the Fool for You
5. Nothin's Gonna Bring You Down
6. Anthem: For the Young

7. Please Come to Paris
8. No Reason to Cry
9. Can't Go Back to Memphis
10. Burnin' Up the Floor
11. Made In Canada
12. That's Ok

Buy now